top of page

Profile : Zahra Rezaei Lalami


1. What is your position at the university?

I am a Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) and pursuing my PhD in Applied Mathematics and Computation.


2. What has inspired your love of the maths community?

Generally speaking, I have always been interested in maths and physics. Achieving outstanding grades in these subjects which are considered to be the difficult and challenging, have always boosted my confidence. My brother is a mathematician, and thanks to him who helped me in strengthening my maths background. I have seen and experienced the applications of mathematics almost everywhere in our daily life. As for me what could be more interesting than maths because it challenges me and makes me feel accomplished for solving real world problems.


3. What do you most enjoy about your role?

Alongside the GTA, I have also been module convener for MSc students. So, I would say Learning is the most enjoyable element of my role because it is continuous and there is always something to learn. My own development helps me to develop my students who are a Future.


4. What are the common misconceptions needed to be overcome?

In order to enhance the perception of mathematics, I think we need to emphasize on the applications of maths in our daily life. We can invite professionals from industry who have completed the projects with distinctive mathematical applications and connections for giving talks to students. This will create interest and motivation among students who just see maths only through the perspective of formulae and theorems. There is rich literature on math anxiety as Richardson and Suinn defines it “a feeling of tension and anxiety that interferes with the manipulation of numbers and the solving of mathematical problems in a wide variety of ordinary life and academic situations”. We need to bring this fear out of the students by highlighting some of the brilliant works the mathematics society has done to make a positive difference in the society.


5. What defines you other than maths?

Well, as many of you are aware that I am a new mom (😊) so my hobby these days is to take care of my precious little one. On another note, I enjoy cooking, painting and playing the traditional musical instrument.


6. Any inspirational quotes for you.

Wish it, Decide it, Do it.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page