top of page

Profile : Leena Sodha


1. What is your current position at the university?

In my current role, I am the programme director for all accredited actuarial science programmes at the University of Leicester. I am responsible for supporting around 250 students in their actuarial journeys and dreams, as well as teaching CB1, CB2, CP2 and CP3.


What better way to support the actuaries of tomorrow than by bridging the gap between university and industry?


2. Why did you chose to teach maths in academia?

Two things drove me to seek a career in academia. The first was to provide future actuaries with the support and guidance that I never had access to when at university, and faced with what was the most important career decision in my professional life.


The second was to ensure graduates entering the actuarial industry are ‘fit for purpose’, with skillsets that ensure their long-term progress and success. In my experience, many enter the industry without understanding what is involved and what the path to success looks like, often giving up a few years into their journey.


3. Why did you move into academia from being in industry?

I must admit it was a real challenge having to pick up my books again and move away from industry, but the opportunity to shape education policy and the experience of future actuaries has been a privilege.

My days in industry bring back nothing but fond memories – excellent colleagues and opportunities to add value and make a difference at an institutional level. For this, I am forever grateful.

In the university environment, I have the opportunity not only to share this experience with the actuaries of tomorrow and shape university education, but also influence the DNA of our profession. That is a privilege, and one that makes a difference at a personal level.


4. What is skillset is required for an individual to becoming an actuary?

It is vitally important that future actuaries are truly passionate about what they do and appreciate the value they can add to an institution. It’s all about our young actuaries recognising and appreciating their self-worth, and learning that nothing is impossible. This applies to students embarking on an actuarial career or succeeding in exams, but also to those who want to change their area of practice – the actuarial skillset is so versatile that it can easily be adapted to many different roles. This can’t be said for every industry or career.


5. What defines you other than maths?

I am defined by my love for caring and value of sharing knowledge. Be this as your lecturer, a wife, a mother, a sister or as a friend, I truly benefit from helping others and seeing other prosper. Knowing I have helped others succeed or at least have clarity in their purpose, provides satisfaction and reward in my mind.


6. Any inspirational role models/ quotes for you.

My father always reminded me of Mahatma Gandhi’s famous words, ‘You must be the change you wish to see in the world’.

To this day, this has been my focus in all that I do.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page