top of page

Profile : Faduma Abdi

1. What was your position at the university?

- Graduate of BSc Mathematics

- Feedback Leader (Probability & Stats)

- Member of the School of Mathematics and Actuarial Science Council


2. Why did you choose to study maths?

Surprisingly enough, I really did not enjoy mathematics at secondary. Infact, I was an aspiring Lawyer. I decided to choose Maths as my degree subject because I began to love it at college. I knew the first time I did differentiation and integration there was much more to maths than what meets the eye.

3. What did you most enjoy about your role?

I enjoyed being able to be a student, teacher and also someone who had the ability to drive change. Being a feedback leader is most definitely one of my highlights. Learning from what I struggled with, I was able to adapt my teaching style to suit the students. I had a good rapport with all my students, and also a friendship.


4. What are the common misconceptions needed to be overcome about maths?

''Mathematics is a purely a theoretical subject with no applications to real life''

It's so important we open young people and university students to the many useful applications of maths in Data Analysis, Medicine, Business, Sport, Engineering and much more.


5. What defines you other than maths?

I'm passionate about helping others through volunteering. Currently learning Arabic as a 3rd a language and I love playing sports specifically basketball.


6. Any inspirational role models/quotes for you.

Role Model: Fatima al-Fihri - founded the oldest existing, continually operating and first degree-awarding university in the world.

Quote : a famous arabic saying: Whoever strives shall succeed



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page